WIDI BUD Follow-Up (Updated 8-3-16)


I received an e-mail from a reader who has a WIDI BUD and they wanted to bring up some specific issues with the device, and I thought it would be good to share their observations with you, as well as a few of my own after my own extended testing today.

In my last post about the XKey Air and the WIDI BUD, I talked about how the WIDI BUD can link to other BLE MIDI devices.  This is not always true.  I was able to connect Zivix products to a WIDI BUD on Mac, Chromebook, and Windows with no problems.  I did not try the Quicco Sound mi.1 MIDI to BLE MIDI dongle that I have in my home, and I can verify that the mi.1 does not connect to the WIDI BUD at this time.  Likewise, the reader mentioned that the Yamaha MD-BT01 and the Yamaha UD-BT01 do not connect to the WIDI BUD.  (Update 8/3/2016)  Yamaha was gracious enough to send me the UD-BT01, and I was able to connect it to the WIDI Bud on both my old Mac (without BLE MIDI) and my Chromebook.  So far, I am not able to get the WIDI Bud to work with my old Asus T-100 Transformer Windows computer.

I don’t know why this is the case–but if you have the mi.1, the WIDI BUD will not work for you at this time. I do not know if a future firmware update can solve the problem, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

The other item that the reader wanted to bring to your attention is that there are some apps that modify the functionality of the WIDI BUD available for download directly off of CME’s website.  They also wanted to highlight that documentation for the WIDI BUD and its accompanying software leaves much to be desired.

I am not troubled by this issue at all..BLE MIDI is still a relatively new feature, and I am hoping future firmware updates can solve these problems.

Posted on July 13, 2016, in Bluetooth MIDI, General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on WIDI BUD Follow-Up (Updated 8-3-16).

Comments are closed.