MI Guitar

What do you think about this?

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/mi-guitar-by-magic-instruments–3#/

One of the Apple bloggers that I follow (Steve Sande) posted about this product.

I’m personally a little hesitant about it.  While I like the idea of a full size guitar, I am not crazy about wires and the need for 8 AA batteries.  It also seems that the instrument is contingent upon the app, at the cost of $0.99 per song or a monthly fee to unlimited songs.

And when all is said and done, you don’t actually learn how to play the guitar.

I’m partial to the JamStik because it gameifies the learning of a guitar and you leave with a transferable skill.  And if you want to play without being able to play, they are now offering the AirJamz as a Kickstarter.  But then again, I am a music educator who taught class guitar and is currently teaching ukulele…so I am always going to have a focus on the real-world application of such a product.

That said, you may be interested in the MI Guitar, as a fun product or even for students with special needs or for music therapy.  Either way…check it out as a product of interest.

Posted on April 27, 2016, in General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on MI Guitar.

Comments are closed.