NextPage Newsletter

Scott Kantner is the developer of NextPage, a PDF Sheet Music Reader for the iPad.

I describe NextPage as forScore-lite, or unrealBook-lite.

As a middle school choir teacher in a 1:1 setting, I found that the best-of-class PDF music readers offered too many features for my students.  Instead of singing, they would be using the metronome, searching the web, or playing the piano.   While I can lock them into an app with our MDM, the apps did too much.  Even the free option, PiaScore, did too much (they did not understand why I asked for YouTube to be removed from the core of their app).

NextPage was a good solution, and we bought 300 copies of it.  The program offers all the basic things you need in a PDF music reader.

We eventually moved away from NextPage as Showbie could be used as a PDF viewer with annotation.  NextPage would be a better solution, but it is easier for me to put students into one app for the whole hour rather than to try to change apps throughout the hour.  Every time you re-focus an app, strange things happen to some student iPads.

So…I like NextPage and recommend it, even though we are not currently using it.  Some users might find NextPage a good, uncomplicated option for music reading on the iPad.

Scott is starting a blog about NextPage 3, and sent out a newsletter.  The newsletter is short and talks about the status of NextPage–and it also has some performance tips at the bottom of the newsletter.  I wanted to share it with you.

NextPage November Newsletter

Comments are disabled.