An Expensive Trip to the NAfME National Conference in Nashville

Last weekend, I had the opportunity to present two sessions at the NAfME National Conference.  My wife and I traveled via car (my one-year-old to me 2006 Prius) and then stayed in a hotel about 40 miles away to keep costs down.

As usual, I brought a number of iPad accessories to show in my 30 apps in 60 minute session on Sunday.

After my second session, the next presenters began to set up immediately after I stopped speaking (there was a 30 minute gap between sessions).  They set up directly over my equipment, and between answering questions and trying to pack up, it was difficult to get my things collected.

I traveled to Madison, Wisconsin on Thursday night for a presentation on iPads in Music Education, I had not worked through any of my belongings after returning from from Nashville on Tuesday, as I taught on Wednesday and Thursday.  Before I left on Thursday, I went to put my travel kit together and realized that I had lost two very important pieces of my “kit” in the shuffle at NAfME.

First, I lost both of my Miselu C.24 keyboards.  These are small iPad-sized keyboards (they were meant to be a cover for the 4th Generation iPad) that I had magnetically connected together and in one of Miselu’s felt sleeves.  Second, I appear to have lost my PUC+, my bluetooth wireless MIDI connector.

I paid only $99 for each of the keyboards as a part of the Kickstarter event; and the PUC+ was a demo unit/gift from Zivix.  Replacement cost of the technology is $199 for each keyboard and $99 for the PUC+.  That means $500 (and these items have all reduced prices).  Ouch.

I have contacted my hotel, the Gaylord Opryland Convention Center, and NAfME–as well as the presenters that followed me after my second session.  I am hoping these items show up–but it is not looking good right now.

Obviously, I had no desire to lose these items or to give them away (although I have given away tech, such as the AirTurn BT-105 that I was given/exchanged for at TMEA three years ago, since I was given an AirTurn PED) and I’m a little bummed about it.  I have presented in a lot of places over the years and have never left any other of my gear behind.

I have some other observations about the NAfME conference that will follow in another post.

Posted on October 31, 2015, in General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on An Expensive Trip to the NAfME National Conference in Nashville.

Comments are closed.