Would You Be Interested in Having Me Present in Your State?

One of the things I love to do is to present sessions on the use of technology in music education, with an eye towards the integration of technology into “traditional” music education. This past year, I spoke in Iowa, Illinois, Ohio, Texas, and Utah. All of these have been paid for out of my own pocket (although Iowa kindly offers a hotel room). I have been blessed with a school that allows me to use both my own personal days as well as to give me some additional days off to present at various conferences. I am at the limit of what I can personally afford to present, but I would love the opportunity to present in other states. Generally, this is the time of the year (through June) where proposals for music conferences are made.

If you would like me to present at your state music conference, I would encourage you to propose a session (or sessions) from me to your state conference committee. I can speak on any number of topics (although I am generally considered the “iPad Guy,” I can custom-create a presentation on just about any topic), and I am open to leading multiple sessions to justify the expense of bringing me to your state.

At this point, I am still not concerned about this aspect of my profession–supporting other teachers–being profitable, but I do need to break even. Generally, to speak at a conference (If someone else is recommending me), I would ask for transportation and hotel to be covered. You may have a music store or sponsor in your state that might be willing to pay for those expenses. If your state is in a warm climate, and your conference is in the winter, my wife may want to travel with me.

Right now, I am scheduled to speak at NAfME (two sessions) and WMEA in October, and the rest of my calendar is open. I will begin to apply for other sessions in the coming days.

If you are interested in having me speak, please feel free to recommend me to your state conference, and please e-mail me if you have any questions.

 

Comments are disabled.