Revolutionary?

This advertisement came through my e-mail account yesterday:

I have had to use this app to buy a digital copy of parts for an existing choral arrangement so I could make a performance track (not available commercially) for one of our elementary teachers, using Notion for iPad.

While the app works, and does what it does well enough, it is far from “revolutionary.”

  1. Music costs as much–or more–than paper versions, even though no printing, storing, or shipping is involved. I know that server space isn't free, but it certainly doesn't cost that much to store and distribute digital music.
  2. The digital music, once purchased, is “stuck” in that particular app. You cannot export to another PDF reader, and even screenshots taken from that app still feature/include the SheetMusicDirect interface. Want to export to another music reader, or want to convert the music to a MusicXML file? Good luck with that.
  3. The is no annotation. This has long been my #1 requirement for a music reader, and surprisingly, there still isn't a good solution for music notation on Android.
  4. My biggest fear is that each publisher (or major distributor) will have their own proprietary app, resulting in 1:1 devices needing to have ten different applications installed on class devices–resulting in havoc and confusion in rehearsals. Yuck. Once I pay the full (or more) price for my digital music, let me use it as I wish to use it. I don't understand how Apple can still be in court for old versions of iTunes where you couldn't export audio files from iTunes to another application due to DRM, yet music publishers are allowed to only allow digital use of their music on their own app.

Again, the app works fine for what it does, but it is not revolutionary or useful in any way in a classroom. The major music publishers continued to adhere to the use of paper and antiquated processes of selling digitial music (you are not allowed to use that music digitally and it must be physically printed).

 

Again, I say: Yuck.

 

 

Posted on January 22, 2015, in General Musings, iPad Apps. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Revolutionary?.

Comments are closed.