My First “Real” Test of NotateMe’s Full PhotoScore In-App Purchase

Although I have had the full version of NotateMe's PhotoScore In-App Purchase, I haven't had much time to work with the app. We had a long family vacation, I am continuing to work in the basement, and I was getting ready for my sessions with the Wisconsin Center for Music Education this week.

I'm currently in a hotel, ready to work with teachers tomorrow–and an evening (or few) away from home gives me an opportunity to finally work with some of the apps I have wanted more time to work with.

I just finished scanning a two-part choral score that I purchased for my students at the end of last year. I won't say what the score is, but I would guarantee that most middle school teachers either have performed this piece or will perform it in the near future, as it is a very popular song from a very recent animated movie.

I chose to scan the score on my iPhone versus my iPad for two very important reasons. First, this is a hotel, and like all hotel rooms, lighting is not great in the room–so I could use the flash for the pictures. Second, I figure the iPhone has a better camera than the iPad (this is always true…the best camera ALWAYS goes into the top-of-the-line iPhone. In my case, we're talking both a 4th Generation iPad and an iPhone 5, neither is the newest, but the iPhone's camera is still better than the iPad's).

Ultimately, I am very impressed with the results. Like the PC/Mac version of the software, The Notate Me PhotoScore In-App Purchase does a good job reading most notes, diacritical markings, and yes, even lyrics. When I export from NotateMe into Notion on the iPad, the accuacy is amazing–I would say in the 95% range or higher.

Like other music readers, the app does occasionally miss stave groupings (e.g. reading voice parts and piano as continual vs. combined staves), but this may be because of the bad lighting in the room. I will try this again in the future.

However, like other scanning products, PhotoScore does get confused in a choral score where there are occasionally two staves, three staves, and four staves (when empty staves are hidden). I don't know if there is a way to encourage any scanning software to fill staves systems from the bottom up, versus the top down.

Let me put this another way: if you have an iPad (or iPhone), and you want to enter music into any software program (NotateMe, Notion, Finale, Sibelius, MuseScore), this app and its plugin should be considered a must-have. Without doubt, it is a pricey combination…$39.99 for the app and $29.99 for the plug-in. At the same time, you don't need to buy a scanner, and remember that PhotoScore Ultimate (Mac/PC) is a $249 option. Granted, the desktop/notebook version does have a editor embedded (And you can use NotateMe to edit), but as a Finale user, I have always found it easier to simply pull the MusicXML from PhotoScore into Finale. This holds true with the NotateMe version of PhotoScore….you may want to export the file to DropBox and open it in whatever app you wish, be it Finale, Sibelius, Notion, Notion for iPad, MuseScore, or any other app.

Musitek, the makers of SmartScore (paired with Finale, but not owned by MakeMusic) also has a scanning app for Android and soon iOS. My “hacked” HP Tablet running Android doesn't have a good enough camera for me to test that app and compare it with NotateMe's PhotoScore (also available on Android). I my experience, PhotoScore has always been more accurate for the music I scan (choral octavos) than SmartScore…and PhotoScore imports text (sometimes incorrectly, many cases of “the” are recognized as “tne,” for example). However, the SmartScore app will be a $10.00 In-App Purchase, so it will be worth purchasing at any case (SmartScore Pro X2 is a $299 program). The SmartScore app will also handle PDFs, whereas NotateMe's PhotoScore cannot handle PDFs at this time (something I hope for, as all of my music has been converted to PDF files). When the SmartScore app is released for iOS, I will certainly purchase it, and may even write a head-to-head article.

All I can say is that I wouldn't hesitate for a second to spend $39.99 on this app and another $29.99 for the PhotoScore IAP if I had a recent iPad and wanted to scan music…choral, band, or orchestral.

Referral Link: NotateMe (full version)

You can also download the free one-staff NotateMe Now, which comes with a free PhotoScore Now feature that scans one part at a time.

 

Posted on July 13, 2014, in iPad Apps, Music Notation, Music Scanning. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on My First “Real” Test of NotateMe’s Full PhotoScore In-App Purchase.

Comments are closed.