Fujitsu ScanScap SV600 Scanner

About a month ago, I saw TUAW's post about the SV600 scanner, a scanner that looks a little bit like Wall-E (the robot from Pixar). You place documents (or items) underneat the scanner, and the head swivels, blasting a LED light and capturing an image. You can scan two pages at a time (even with band/orchestra scores), but then you have to use Fujitsu's software to deskew the pages (and separate them). There is a little “waviness” to the end scan when using the software solution–but I have seen MANY photocopies of music that were not as clean or easy to read. It takes time to go back and edit each page with the software, which often fails to detect a clean edge between the paper and the black mat that comes with the scanner, and at times the software “misreads” where the dividing point is between pages. Ultimately, single page scans work best (logically, they are flat).


However, if you are used to having to copy pages first, and then scan those pages, this process is simpler, and could save you time. I hope that newer versions of the software (you have to download Mac versions) will do a better job of border recognition, allow for mass editing (setting the same margins for all scanned pages), or even “track” a five line staff to make sure that staff lines are straight.

The SV600 lists for $900, but can be purchased (delivered) for $650 or so, and is the first relatively inexpensive solution for scanning larger size music on the market.

I have not been paid to write this post, nor do I get any kickback from Fujitsu for writing it. I saw the scanner on TUAW, brought it to the attention of my principal and made the case for the scanner with the intent of obtaining it in a future year; I must have stated my case strongly, as my principal was kind enough to order it for this budget year with some remaining funds (the scanner can be used by all music classes as well as other classes in our school, but is housed in my room for safe keeping).

As with all scanning projects, I encourage you to scan what you NEED to scan first, and then slowly start working through your library. If you begin with your immediate needs, you will achieve your goal over time.

As for choral music, I still prefer cutting the music and then scanning it with a small sheet-fed scanner (my personal scanner is the Canon P-150, although the P-215 is the current version), but for full-size music, the SV600 is hard to beat for functionality and price point. The TUAW video that introduced me to the SV600 is displayed below.

 

Posted on May 14, 2014, in Music Scanning. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Fujitsu ScanScap SV600 Scanner.

Comments are closed.