Open for Business — Help available for all.

Six operating systems.  Back row: Asus T100 (Windows RT & 8.1), MacBook (OS X 10.9), Chromebook.  Front Row: HP Touchpad (Android 4.3), iPad (iOS 7)

Six operating systems. Back row: Asus T100 (Windows RT & 8.1), MacBook (OS X 10.9), Chromebook. Front Row: HP Touchpad (Android 4.3), iPad (iOS 7)

Although I can’t possibly own all devices on the major platforms, I am now able to address technology on the following platforms:

iPad (4th Generation iPad running iOS 7)
MacBook (late 2008 MacBook Aluminum Unibody running Mavericks)
Android (HP Touchpad running Android 4.3 Jelly Bean)
Chromebook (Samsung 303 series)
Windows RT and Windows 8.1 (Asus T100)

Therefore, I am set up in a way to be familiar with nearly every modern OS. If you are a Linux user, I’m probably not going to be able to help you. But otherwise, I’m open for business.

As a side note, only the iPad and MacBook were relatively expensive. The iPad was $699, and the MacBook was $1599 (I had no recollection that it was that expensive). The Touchpad was $99 (bought it the morning of the “fire sale”), the Chromebook $216 as an open box item, and the Asus T100 was $379.

I still can’t believe the MacBook was that much…and that doesn’t include the extended warranty (which I am grateful that I bought because of optical drive issues and one replaced drive; but now that optical drives are not generally in MacBooks any more, I am not sure I would buy another extended warranty). Still, my MacBook will be 6 years old this October (it is the same age as my son), and this is the year that we will probably buy new MacBooks (probably 13″ MacBook Airs…if they go retina) for both my wife and I (my wife is using a 2007 White MacBook which we purchased used in November of 2008, shortly after I bought my MacBook) for $800. If iPads are updated in 2014 (they will be), it will be time to update the iPad as well. And if there is an iPad Pro, as a musician, that may need to be my new device. We will see.

Comments are disabled.