NoteFlight 3.0 is live

A number of my tech blogging friends have already been discussing this on Twitter, but NoteFlight 3.0 is available now. For the record, not all features are working, and quite honestly, that's fine with me. The onscreen keyboard works well with the iPad (although the keys are very small), and I would guess that a touch based interface works more efficiently than a mouse-based interface for this program.

You do, however, need to make sure that Private Browsing is NOT enabled, and that Cookies are tuned on (at least for sites you have visited).

I pulled out my trusty HP TouchPad (running Android 4.0, Ice Cream Sandwich), but NoteFlight isn't working with android yet (there's a message that says Android functionality is coming soon).

This is significant, because as far as I know, there is only one music notation app for the Android platform, Musical Note Pad (free). It's a very basic app, and NoteFlight will instantly pass the functionality of Musical Note Pad the moment it is available.

There will be continuing upgrades to Noteflight's web-based app, and I look forward to importing a MusicXML file I have created in Finale to see what NoteFlight does with it. Additionally, it doesn't look like text can be added to a NoteFlight file…but then again, I'm a novice with this app and it may take a while to learn how to use it. Note entry, from a Finale background, seems to be in line with the “simple note entry” method of entering notes (versus the “speedy note entry” which I use most of the time). I'm definitely much faster at entering notes in Finale…exponentially so.

Right now, I think that Notion for iPad is a better music notation option for the iPad, but the jury is still out as NoteFight is in an active development process with their app. As always, it is wonderful to simply have options.

So…go create an account at NoteFlight (basic services are free) and see what you think!

 

Posted on January 24, 2013, in Android, iPad Apps, Other Technology. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on NoteFlight 3.0 is live.

Comments are closed.