Another option in place of the Apple Camera Connection Kit

Several weeks ago, I saw a post on 9 to 5 Mac that listed two Camera Connection Kit all-in-one devices for $5.00 (shipping included).  I couldn’t resist that bargain, so I bought a set.

The device features a USB connector on one side, and a multiple card reader on the other.

I actually tried the all-in-one kit the other day, and it didn’t work.  I put a SD card with photos into the reader, plugged it into the iPad…and…nothing.

I looked online to see what the problem was, and it turns out there is a small switch (almost the size of one of the old mother board DIN switches) that moves the card from reading the USB connection to reading the card reader connection.  I went back to the all-in-one kit, looked at the front of it, and realized that this was actually labeled.  That’s a big “Oops” on my part, but I can tell you that a large number of buyers made the same mistake.

I flipped that switch, and then it worked.  I did get one “this accessory does not work with the iPad warning,” but the all-in-one continued to work.  There is some discussion that a powered card (e.g. a CF drive) requires power that this 5-in1 card reader cannot provide.  At the same time, the only card option on the official Apple Camera Connection Kit is an SD card, so this is a moot point.  It is nice to not have to bring two small iPad “plugs” which can be lost or misplaced in my “iPad Bag.”  The larger all-in-one camera connection kit is significantly easier to keep track of.

You can find a number of these listed on Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/5-1-Card-Reader-iPad/dp/B004HT6TS2), as well as at the site where I bought mine (http://www.all4cellular.com/product/apple-ipad-5-in-1-camera-connection-kit-2-pack.html).  Compared to the $29 kit at Apple, it might be a good alternative, particularly for 1-to-1 schools where external cameras are used and iPads are used for photo or video editing.

Posted on August 20, 2012, in iPad Accessories. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Another option in place of the Apple Camera Connection Kit.

Comments are closed.