Voice Dictation With Mac OS X Mountain Lion

I have just finished installing Mac OS X Mountain Lion on my late 2008 aluminum MacBook.  I am writing my first post using voice dictation, which comes as part of the new Mountain Lion operating system.  It appears that voice dictation is disabled until you activate it, so you need to go to your system settings, and turn on voice dictation to get it to work.

The default shortcut for turning on voice dictation is to hit the function keys two times. So far this is working quite well and should save many users a lot of time. It’s sort of like old episodes Star Trek where people talked to a computer, and the computer simply did what you told it to do.

This feature should help many students as they try to put together papers for school, which will cause great challenges for students as they learn how to work with English language.  Those students will never have to quite work out the English language in the same way they had to before. This includes figuring out why a word is spelled wrong, as the service does a fantastic job of spelling things correctly, and also figuring out homophones in context (or homonym, your choice).

It turns out the voice dictation records about a paragraph of spoken text before the service stops and forces you to press enter.  I’m not sure if I can type much faster than the voice dictation service can translate my spoken words.

I actually just left to try some typing speed tests.  Some services could catch that I was “cheating”, but in general, I was able to type more accurately, but at a slower pace.  And of course, this is using phrases that you wouldn’t normally use in the English language.

So, if you download Mac OS X Mountain Lion today, give voice dictation a try. It may save you some time, and it maybe worth the entire purchase price of the operating system.

Comments are disabled.