Andy’s Song

My four-year-old son is a singer. Whenever he’s doing anything–and I mean anything, he’s singing. The exception (most of the time) is when he watches TV.

[editorial note: he’s been rather stuck on Curious George on Netflix for some time now. We’re rather sick of that monkey, and every human in that show is an idiot. Furthermore, as naughty as George might be, he never gets in trouble.]

I’ve been noticing that Andy keeps falling back on one song more than any other, which I’ve written out in Notion for the iPad and placed into this post. It is the same pitch sequence of “Twinkle, twinkle” at “Like a diamond in the sky,” or “ABCs” at “H, I, J, K, L M N O P.” He’s changed the rhythm to what appears above (16th, 16th, 8th), and he repeats the first measure over and over, seldom resolving the phrase.

What intrigues me is that he always starts on the same first pitch (a G above Middle C). I don’t know what this means for his future music making, but as a music educator, I keep my ear attuned to what he’s doing with music.

Last year, one of our favorite driving games was to sing. The difference is that he would try to sing the theme from Pixar’s Cars 2, and when I would sing along, he would get mad and tell me to sing something else, particularly the theme to Wonder Pets. Eventually, the theme from Cars 2 became “his song,” and Wonder Pets became “my song.” So, we would drive places, both of us singing our songs at the same time. If I tried singing with him, he would insist that I stay on my own song. Do you think this kid will start composing like Charles Ives?

[editorial note: the beginning of the Wonder Pets phone song is my phone’s ring tone. “The phone…the phone is ringing.”]

 

Comments are disabled.