New Apple TV to VGA Adapter

Kanex ATV-Pro

I saw this new Kanex Apple TV to VGA Adapter on 9 to 5 Mac today, and immediately ordered one.  The cost?  $68 shipped.

This is a great solution (if it works, which it should) for many schools that have older projectors without HDMI inputs (it should also work for any HDMI source).  $59 may seem expensive, but a Monoprice HDMI to VGA Converter is in the $40 range, and does not include an HDMI cable.  At the same time, Monoprice was out of the HDMI to VGA Converters when I ordered an Apple TV for my classroom, so I ended up buying a $99 View HD model for my classroom.  Obvious statement of the day: $59 is much less expensive than $99.  I may sell the View HD and buy a second Kanex ATV-Pro if it works. 

Furthermore, the Kanex does not require another additional power source and requires one less additional cable in the process.  This is a win for education.

 I’ll write a blog post when the unit arrives and report how it works.

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Apple Hardware, General Musings, iPad Apps, Other Technology. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on New Apple TV to VGA Adapter.

Comments are closed.