Rise of the Masters – 100 Supreme Classical Masterpieces

It has been a while since I mentioned this (and may have only done so via Twitter), but Amazon still has collections of 100 tracks from various composers (Bach, Beethoven, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Grieg, Handel, Mozart, Tchaikovsky, Schubert, Schumann, Vivaldi) for $2.00 each.  I had some issues downloading some of these files (1200 files at once seemed to be too much for Amazon’s Music Downloader), and my wife wanted the $0.25 album of the day (Lady Antebellum), so I finally had to go back and get Amazon Downloader working.  I have, and I’ve been reminded of the great deal offered with these Supreme Classical Masterpieces albums.

For example, Beethoven’s 100 tracks includes all nine symphonies, the Egmont Overture, and the Missa Solemnis.  For $2.00.

If you buy all 12 albums, you will pay about $25 for 1,200 tracks of classical music.  It’s the best deal I’ve seen anywhere…and the recordings are of an acceptable quality (I’ve paid far more for recordings of lesser quality).  In my opinion, every music major should buy these tracks (unless they already own them).  Period.

Interested?  Here’s a link to an Amazon search that shows all 12 of the albums (and more).  By the way, this isn’t a referral link (I do not get any financial kickback if you use the link).  Many thanks to Andy Inhatko, of the  Chicago Sun Times who brought this to my attention with a tweet.  He recently had a great post about the Doll Aria on his blog.  Check it out when you get a chance…it contains a must-see video for any person that loves music.

Posted on March 8, 2012, in General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Rise of the Masters – 100 Supreme Classical Masterpieces.

Comments are closed.