iPad or Notebook?

With the imminent release of the iPad 3 (to be announced on March 7th), a number of bloggers are writing about iPads versus notebook computers.  It’s getting old.

Here’s a pro-notebook post (via Ben Brooks), and a pro-iPad post.

Here’s where I stand: I could not have an iPad as my only device.  In my life as a music teacher, there are too many things that I still need a notebook (my MacBook) to do:

  • Finale
  • SmartMusic
  • Scanning
  • Music (storing, ripping, burning, etc.) [**to my knowledge, you still cannot import audio on your iPad in any way other than through syncing with a computer, a very non-Post PC experience)
  • Movies (playing, ripping, etc.)
  • Microsoft Word
My iPad can’t do these things.  I wish it could.  I’d happily forego the weight of my MacBook if I could substitute my iPad for all these things, but that isn’t the case.
On the other hand, there are a bunch of things I can do as well or better than on my iPad as I can on my MacBook:
  • Photo Editing
  • Vector Graphic Drawings
  • Blogging
  • Writing (Pages)
  • Keynote Presentations
  • Playing Audio
  • Surfing the web
  • E-mail
  • Twitter
  • Editing video (really a much better experience for the novice user on the iPad than on a computer)
  • SmartMusic Inbox (I feel the iOS experience on the iPad far surpasses that of the web client)
And there are things I can do with my iPad that I can’t do on my MacBook:
  • Put it on the piano and use it as sheet music
  • Take handwritten notes (Noteshelf is my preferred app)
  • Drawing by hand
  • Easily control our thermostat (Nest has an app)
  • Use it as a musical instrument
  • Wirelessly project (although AirParrot allows for this, and so will this summer’s Mountain Lion)
  • Interactive books for my children
  • My young children can use it by themselves
I’m missing some things in all these categories, but I want to leave you with one truth: the iPad seems to be limited only by the limitations of the apps themselves, rather than by the limitations of the device.  I had  a discussion with a developer the other day who mentioned that the iPad was limited in what it could do (compared to a *computer*) because it didn’t have enough processing cycles–especially for what the desktop app needed to, particularly with a specific algorithm.  My naive reaction (but probably accurate none the less) is to think: “You need a better algorithm.”  Another thing I’ve experienced is that my iPad is capable of doing more today than it was in April of 2010.  Sure, I now have an iPad 2 which is faster than the iPad 1, and has more features (camera); and I’ll buy an iPad 3 (or iPad HD) eventually.  But for the most part, the majority of improvements have been on the part of the (excellent) available programs, not because of the hardware.
I use a bluetooth keyboard from time to time; and I’d still like a MacBook Air.  But I’d never give up my iPad–either in my personal life or in my professional life.  I simply expect the iPad to continue to be more Post PC and less reliant on a computer (including, in my profession, music composition apps) as time goes on.
Posted on March 5, 2012, in General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on iPad or Notebook?.

Comments are closed.