A Touchstone Charger for the TouchPad

I haven’t been using my HP TouchPad very much, as I am waiting (patiently) for Android 4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) to be released for the device (the developers at CyanogenMod are working hard to port the new OS to the device).  As a result, the TouchPad sits idle, and eventually loses battery power.  The TouchPad I purchased for my stepson has also been left alone much of the time, as some key apps are missing for Web OS (such as Netflix).  I don’t want to install Android on his device until there’s a stable port. 
Say what you will about Apple iOS devices and the 30 pin cable; I find the specialized USB cable of the TouchPad, really a microUSB cable, to be much harder to deal with (I think this plug is the required European adapter).  Sometimes the sheer hassle of plugging in the TouchPad (yes, I know this is a “lazy” comment) keeps my stepson and I from charging our devices.
 
I decided, on a whim, to search out a Touchstone Charger for the TouchPad, which I found on Amazon for roughly 40% of the original asking price.  I ordered the charger today, and it couldn’t be easier to use.  Drop the TouchPad on the charger, and let it charge, whether on Android 2.3 or WebOS.  Now I can keep both of our family’s TouchPads ready to go without any hassle of charging cables.  I really like this.
 
Let me just say that inductive charging is the single aspect of the TouchPad (in my opinion, of course) that exceeds the hardware of the iPad.  I can honestly say, particularly with the “PC Free” aspect of iOS 5.0.1, that the iPad 2 would be a better device with an inductive charger.  Before iOS 5.0.1, there was no point in an inductive charger because a cable was still needed for syncing…this is no longer true.
 
If you have a TouchPad, go buy the Touchstone Charger.  Apple, if you’re listening, consider using this technology in the iPad 3.  This is something that HP “got right.” 

Posted on January 9, 2012, in HP TouchPad. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A Touchstone Charger for the TouchPad.

Comments are closed.