A tale of three styli: Cosmonaut, Alupen, and Jot Pro

This afternoon, my Cosmonaut stylus from Studio Neat arrived. Like its fellow product, the Glif, the Cosmonaut was a Kickstarter project of which I was a “backer.” The Cosmonaut is designed to feel like a dry erase marker your hand, although it is thicker than the Just Mobile Alupen stylus, and weighs 1.5 ounces, whereas the Alupen weighs 0.9 of an ounce. The aluminum construction of the Alupen makes it seem heavier than the Cosmonaut. In comparison, my other favorite stylus is my Adonit Jot Pro, which feels more like a real pen and weighs 0.7 of an ounce.

My three year old son began using the Cosmonaut before I did, and he seemed to switch easily between the Cosmonaut and Alupen. I let my son draw on the iPad, which results in pictures like this:



If he isn’t using the iPad, he burns through any printer paper I find…so here is another case where an iPad might save money over time.

I drew three lines, and although the picture doesn’t really show it, the Adonit Jot Pro gives the most response, while the Cosmonaut and Alupen work just fine, too.

I’ve become a firm believer in having two styli in my iPad bag, both the Adonit Jot Pro (for handwritten music and notes) and the Alupen. The Cosmonaut could also fit that bill. The difference is that the Cosmonaut is completely covered in rubber, whereas the Alupen is aluminum. Quite honestly, the cold Minnesota winter (although it has been mild this year, especially compared to the last year) may drive me to the cosmonaut just because the aluminum of the Alupen is cold to the touch. As a side note, the Adonit Jot Pro has a rubber grip, alleviating the cold feel of the metal.

The Cosmonaut is $25 and sells at www.studioneat.com

The Just Mobile Alupen is $24.95 and sells at www.xtand.net

The Adonit Jot and Jot Pro sell for $19.99 and $29.99 at www.adonit.net

As always, do your research before buying. Sometimes you can find better prices for these items elsewhere on the web (particularly true with the Just Mobile Alupen, as you can only buy the Cosmonaut and Jot from their respective companies).

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Apple Hardware, General Musings. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on A tale of three styli: Cosmonaut, Alupen, and Jot Pro.

Comments are closed.