The Process of Elimination

More than a year ago, Gizmodo obtained a pre-release iPhone 4 and published about it on the Internet. At the time, I understood why they would do so, but in the days following the article, it be became clear that Gizmodo acted unethically when Apple (i.e. Steve Jobs) asked for the phone back (In fact, they demanded a letter stating it was the real iPhone and tried to bribe Apple for an agreement of future news)–and they acted like jerks while doing so.

After Steve Jobs died last week, Brian Lam, the former editor of Gizmodo, filled in the other part of the story and reported that he had written an apology to Jobs in August. And he admitted that he had acted like a jerk (he actually used a more descriptive term). In other words, my feelings about Gizmodo and their actions were justified, and I still don’t visit that site.

My one of recent goals has been to stop following all of the blogs that–following the launch of the iPhone 4S–declared the iPhone 4S a flop and boldly claimed they would NEVER buy one, and now report that they pre-ordered their phones at 12:01am on the first day of pre-ordering. I have no issue with people changing their mind and reporting on that process, but to simply “flip-flop” without explanation is annoying and poor journalism. I don’t trust those authors or their material. They’re disingenuous.

I know–my following an RSS feed of a blog isn’t going to make or break any blog, and I certainly understand that some readers will do the same with this blog. If you have limited time to read blogs (some crank out an amazing amount of material), you need to carefully choose the blogs that either provide the best information or that provide enjoyable reading. I’ve been doing the same with Twitter feeds.

Note: The DA discussed the case and said that Gizmodo acted like teenagers and stated they wanted to punish Apple. It’s just more proof that they were a bunch of jerks.

Comments are disabled.