iPad (iOS) Apps for Elementary Music Education

I am not an elementary music educator, and have taught secondary music for my entire career.  I believe that education (as a whole) is going to experience an iPad revolution, placing iPads in all schools, many on a 1-to-1 basis.  Knowing that iPads are used by people from age 2 to 99 (sounds a bit like “Chestnuts Roasting Over an Open Fire/the Christmas Song”), as long as an iPad (in the lower levels) is put into a sturdy case, there is no reason an elementary student could not use an iPad in their classes.

Many of the apps I suggest in this blog are best suited for students that are in secondary education or beyond.  What about the good apps for elementary music educators?  I asked the readers of techinmusic ed for their recommendations.  Before I offer the lists, I would like to say that there seem to be limited blogs or resources for technology in elementary music education.  There is a place for an elementary music educator that would be interested in creating an “iPad” focused blog specifically for elementary music education.  That said, two music education blogs I’ve found are:

If you can recommend other good technology-related elementary music education blogs, please let me know (send me an e-mail) and I will include them on this list.

The apps:

+ indicates a universal binary [works on all iOS devices]
* indicates iPad only
– indicates iPod Touch/iPhone formatted (does not run full screen on iPad)

From Kevin Lane:

Music Drawing Full – $2.99

From Mary Kendall:

Rainbow Notes +
Rhythm Sight Reading Trainer +

From Brenda Muench:

Rhythm in Reach
Note Squish
Harp +
Tap Studio (Custom Rock Band App)

Mentioned by David Pogue, New York Times Technology Columnist (and musician):

Easy Beats

From Carol Broos’ Website:

Drum Kit Pro
Rain Stick
Pocket Guitar
Bass Guitar
Kalimba Free
Virtuoso Piano Free 2 HD +
Pocket Shaker
Piano Sharp
Tone Pad

From iPad Creative:

Juno’s Piano HD *
Mixeroo +
Baby Chords +
Singing Fingers
iOrgel – (also HD version available for iPad *)
Magic Piano *

Other Apps I’ve Come Across:

iGog –
Percussions +
Bebot +
Magic Stave Free
Autoharp *
SoundHound +
Composer of the Day
Magic Fiddle *

And of course, the newest “big” iPad app for music (as of 3/12/2011):

Garage Band *

I invite any music teacher (especially elementary music educators) to e-mail additional suggested apps to the list.  Additionally, if you feel there is an app listed that should not be listed, please e-mail me and let me know why.  Developers the intent for this list is for it to be a “recommended by teachers” list.

Posted on March 13, 2011, in iPad Apps, iPhone/iPod Touch Apps. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on iPad (iOS) Apps for Elementary Music Education.

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,295 other followers