After the 2011 MMEA Conference

Thank you to everyone who attended and contributed to the presentations today!  The following links contain the content from the presentations.  If you have questions, please feel free to send an e-mail!

iPads in Music Education (PDF)
Smart Boards in Music Education (PDF)
Technology in Music Education (Prezi Presentation)

You can also sign up to follow techinmusiced.com’s Twitter feed (@techinmusiced).

Additionally, I mentioned Dropbox.  If you don’t have a Dropbox account, I would encourage you to get one.  (2GB of free online storage).  If you subscribe using this link, I will earn an extra 250MB for referring you to the service.  I use Dropbox for most of my school-related work, so your referral bonus is appreciated.

Finally, some tech winners and losers at MMEA this year.

Winner: the Yamaha Avant Grand Pianos at Music Connection.  Why would anyone ever buy a traditional acoustic piano for a practice room again?  A fantastic concept: Yamaha C2 action combined with digital sound.

Loser: Sibelius.  No presence at all at MMEA?  In Minnesota, this is music education’s key event where teachers get a chance to see what is in the field.  Yes, this might be Twins and Finale territory, but if you call yourself “The leading music composition and notation software,” you should be present at key events like MMEA.

Some final follow-up:

  • I was asked about the  Interwrite MOBI slate from Engaging Technologies.  I don’t know much about the MOBI system, and a quick web search didn’t reveal many resources.
  • I was asked if I have seen the iBand videos. (Christmas or I Gotta Feeling).  Yes, I have.  I didn’t want to make a point about the iBand because of the amount of technology needed to amplify an iBand–most people will have a hard enough time obtaining a single iPad for their own use.  Don’t forget about Atomic Tom’s performance in a NYC subway.
  • I was asked if I knew what apps were used on the iPad to record the new Gorillaz album.  I didn’t, but here’s the list (source linked above):

    Speak It! / SoundyThingie / Mugician / Solo Synth / Synth / Funk Box / Gliss / AmpliTube / Xenon / iElectribe / BS-16i / M3000 HD / Cleartune / iOrgel HD / Olsynth / StudioMiniXI / BassLine / Harmonizer / Dub Siren Pro / Moog Filatron

  • A great question from a current college student: “How will I be prepared to use the technology that will exist five years from now when I graduate?”  We don’t know what the landscape will look like in five years, but I’d bet on the continued growth of the tablet and decline of the personal computer (regardless of Win/Mac/Linux OS), and the move towards digital resources (completely) in education.  The best bet: follow a lot of tech blogs (Engadget, Boy Genius Report, TUAW, and tipb) and stay informed.  Remember that nobody expected the impact of the iPad in 2010, and such a device was unfathomable in early 2009.
Posted on February 17, 2011, in Apple Hardware, General Musings, iPad Apps, iPhone/iPod Touch Apps, Other Technology, SMART Boards. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on After the 2011 MMEA Conference.

Comments are closed.